top of page
Untitled design (1).png

The Australasian Land & Groundwater Association (ALGA) organised ecoforum in 2023, hold in conjunction with the 8th International Sustainable Remediation Conference - SustRem 2023.

ecoforum/SustRem 2023 has been hosted in Melbourne at the beautiful Flemington Racecourse,
10 - 13 October 2023.

The theme of the Conference was ''Metting the Challenges for a Sustainable Future''.

This event marked a significant milestone for ALGA, as it was the largest-ever conference.

Thank you to the 600+ delegates - local and international, 120 speakers - including 18 keynotes, 41 exhibition booths and 13 sponsors. The event was a resounding success. The vibrant exchange of ideas and knowledge shared made this conference truly exceptional.

We invite you to relive the moments through the captivating photographs captured during the 3-day conference and the memorable conference dinner.


Save the Date!
Next ecoforum will be held in Brisbane in October 2025.

Primary Sponsors



ecoforum is ALGA’s flagship event, which is essential for building new industry connections, sharing the latest cutting-edge information, and learning from and networking with industry colleagues. The conference is an in-person event.

As in previous years, we will collectively tackle the major challenges within our industry, bringing together the best local and international speakers to ensure that delegates leave with new knowledge and inspiration.



ALGA and SuRF-ANZ was pleased to announce that SustRem 2023 has been held in conjunction with ecoforum 2023. SustRem conferences are held under the co-ordination of internationally acknowledged organisations such as the NICOLE and NICOLA networks (Networks for Industrially Contaminated Land in Europe, Latin America and Africa) and various SuRF (Sustainable Remediation Forum) chapters worldwide (now grouped under the International Sustainable Remediation Alliance, ISRA). SustRem 2023 was an opportunity for professionals from Australasia and around the world to come together to share knowledge and innovations in sustainable practices for the management of contaminated sites.


Thank you to our Committee and Sub-Committee


Bruce Gray, Assistant Director Dept Agriculture, Water and the Environment ACT

Cath Sivertsen, Senior contaminated land project officer, Dept Environment, Land, Water and Planning VIC

Chris Smitt, Director / Principal Hydrogeologist, EHS Support Pty Ltd - Chair

Craig Cowper, Technical Director ‑ Environment, Alliance Geotechnical Pty Ltd - Co-Chair

Dru Marsh, Manager Internal Review, EPA Vic

Judith Barnes, Principal, Senversa Pty Ltd

Julia Jaeger, Technical Specialist, Eurofins Environment Testing Australia Pty Ltd

Louise Cartwright, Principal & Qld Contaminated Land Auditor, Epic Environmental Pty Ltd

Vicki Pearce, Project Development Manager – Defence, Ventia Pty Ltd

Associate Committee

Danny McDonald, Senior Principal Environmental Geoscientist, Cardno

Dinithi Koswatta Gamage, Environmental Scientist, SMEC

Heather Sanders, Senior Contaminated Land Consultant, Jacobs

Ian Brookman, CEO, Environmental Earth Sciences International (EESI)

Patricia Reyes, Director, Interstate Technology Regulatory Council

Richard Campbell, Managing Director, HydroTerra

Early Careers Professionals Sub-Committee

Danielle Toase, Qantas

Emmylou Cooke, Senior Environmental Consultant, Environmental Restoration, Arcadis

Kate Selvaratnam, Senior Project Consultant, SLR

Megan Ensor, Qantas

Scott Carroll, Remediation Manger, Liberty Industrial

Innovation and Technology Sub-Committee

Adam Fletcher, General Manager, Ventia Pty Ltd

Ben Keet, Director, K8 Ltd

David Burns, Chief Technology Officer, EPOC Systems

Matthew Askeland, Business Unit Manager - ECTRR, ADE Consulting Group

International Speakers Sub-Committee

Daniela Balbachevsky, Site Auditor Assistant / Project Director, GHD Pty Ltd

Frederic Cosme, Principal Geosyntec

Matthew Askeland, Business Unit Manager - ECTRR, ADE Consulting Group

Patricia Reyes, Director, Interstate Technology Regulatory Council

Roy Thun, Senior Environmental Specialist, GHD US

SustRem Sub-Committee

Daniela Balbachevsky, Site Auditor Assistant / Project Director, GHD Pty Ltd

David Tully, Director, Contaminated Land Solutions

Matthew Tendam, Associate Environmental Engineer, Aurecon Australasia Pty Ltd

Peter Nadebaum, GHD

Roy Thun, Senior Environmental Specialist, GHD US

bottom of page